India's squad for South Africa tour to be named today

Associated Press

Associated Press

Virat Kohli has been rested and Rohit Sharma will captain the side.

Kohli has tormented the Sri Lanka bowlers during the ongoing Test series, racking up scores of 104 not out, 213 and 243 in his last three innings.

The other four pacemen - Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav - were automatic picks.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee on Monday picked the teams for the upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka and the three-match Test series against South Africa.

India Test squad vs South Africa: Virat Kohli, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

"With regard to Bumrah if you see his performance for the past 10-12 months, he has been phenomenal".

Missing North Carolina girl presumed dead, authorities say
We have got to find her. "Allow us to review it to determine if it is of investigative value", FBI agent Stanley Meador said. Authorities arrested a North Carolina man in connection to the disappearance of his girlfriend's 3-year-old daughter .

"It's a unanimous choice, there were no doubts in picking Bumrah because he definitely adds variety to our pace attack".

Meanwhile, selectors also named the 15-man squad for Sri Lanka T20Is.

The team will leave for South Africa on December 27.

Considering him over world's number 1 and 2 spinners (Ashwin and Jadeja) would have been a big ask.

India's T20I squad against Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma (c), Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, M S Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Mohd Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat. The MSK Prasad-led selection panel has persisted with the Test regulars for the 17-member squad, which includes seven batsmen, two wicketkeepers, along with the all-round option of Hardik Pandya.

The squad features three uncapped players in Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda and Basil Thampi.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.